Día de las Velitas, celebrating in English

Plaza Simon Bolivar

The Día de las Velitas is coming up.  Its about family, faith and well, lighting candles.  Though a Catholic holiday, the sentiment is common across many cultures and religions.  We’ll celebrate and learn a little vocabulary with This Little Light of Mine sung by the Boss (Bruce Springsteen).

First, some vocabulary:

Shine, verb, to emit or reflect light or to distinguish oneself (brillar, destacarse)

Hallelujah, expression, exclamation of praise or joy (aleluya)

Let it shine, expression, allow it to shine or permit it to shine (la deja brillar)

Make it shine, expression, force it to shine or compel it to shine. (la hace que brillar)

This little light of mine
I’m going to let it shine
Oh, this little light of mine
I’m going to let it shine
Hallelujah
This little light of mine
I’m going to let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Ev’ry where I go
I’m going to let it shine
Oh, ev’ry where I go
I’m going to let it shine
Hallelujah
Ev’ry where I go
I’m going to let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

All in my house
I’m going to let it shine
Oh, all in my house
I’m going to let it shine
Hallelujah
All in my house
I’m going to let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

I’m not going to make it shine
I’m just going to let it shine
I’m not going to make it shine
I’m just going to let it shine
Hallelujah
I’m not going to make it shine
I’m just going to let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Out in the dark
I’m going to let it shine
Oh, out in the dark
I’m going to let it shine
Hallelujah
Out in the dark
I’m going to let it shine
Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine

Let your English shine this week and have  a great holiday!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

